Skip to content

Nearly Brownies

May 2, 2011

It’s been a long time, everything has, so I’m slowing easing myself back into the world. With a vile set of exams upcoming that transition is slower than I might like. A week ago there was something refreshing about being able to maintain a distance from the world in order to immerse myself in revision; now, I’m bored of it. I’d like a holiday, thank you very much, from lectures to projects to (an epic and surprisingly enjoyable) fieldtrip to revision and exams, this course has been non-stop for so long now.

My level of distraction has meant that I found myself reaching for the beaters and making brownies. I found this amazing picture of chocolate-cheesecake marbled brownies on BBC Good Food years ago, yet I’d never made them. The picture looked fabulous and while I didn’t believe I’d quite be able to replicate it, my failure was greater than I’d expected. The brownie mix all sunk to the bottom of the tin and the cheesecake rose to the top. I’m not quite sure where I went wrong, I’ve double and triple checked the recipe, they tasted pretty good though, so I might be trying it again, with some tweaking.

I halved this recipe, maybe that’s where the problems lay.

From BBC Good Food

Marbled Brownies

Brownie:

200g plain chocolate

200g butter

250g caster sugar

3 eggs

125g plain flour

Cream Cheese:

400g cream cheese

1tsp vanilla

2 eggs

Oven 180˚C

Beat together cream cheese, vanilla and eggs, set aside.

Melt chocolate and butter together in a bowl over a pan of simmering water.

Beat sugar and eggs together.

Stir chocolate mix into sugar and eggs.

Fold in flour

Pour 3/4 of the brownie mix into a greased and lined 20x30cm tin. Pour cream cheese mix ontop, add dollops of remaining brownie mix and marble.

Bake for 35 mins.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

