Skip to content

Meringue Filled Coffee Cake

March 27, 2011

I was terribly excited when I saw the Daring Baker’s Challenge this month only to then start reading the recipe and find that it wasn’t ‘coffee cake’ at all, just a brioche style bread stuffed with meringue and other sweet things. Very disappointing.

My first attempt at this was disastrous, I was out of bread flour, so I used plain flour instead and I was being highly impatient so I didn’t let the dough rise for long enough and I was halving the recipe in my head so I think I might not have had the right amount of liquid. After all that, the filling came pouring out of the bread while it baking in the oven. Needless to say it went straight into the bin. My second attempt was a little more successful, I didn’t bother with the meringue again and kept it simple with a banana and chocolate filling. This worked, it was at least edible, it is, though, just a brioche recipe and not a particularly good one at that. When I find a good brioche recipe I will be making banana and chocolate brioche, they, after all, work so well together.

The March 2011 Daring Baker’s Challenge was hosted by Ria of Ria’s Collection and Jamie of Life’s a Feast. Ria and Jamie challenged The Daring Bakers to bake a yeasted Meringue Coffee Cake.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

