Skip to content

Carrot Cake

March 24, 2011

That.

Sometimes things are just the way they should be, seeing old friends in whose company you can completely relax and forget about the world. Forgot about the world indeed, forget about the relentless pounding that is doing a Master’s course. So while everybody else was working hard at uni, I did what is best done with a Sunday and spent it with friends.

Tea and cake, classic and simple. My mum just happened upon a copy of the Good Housekeeping cookbook in Oxfam after I’ve been stopping in every secondhand bookstore that I’ve passed by for more than a year, in search of a copy. I’m in love with this cookbook, I have been for a very long time, I used to have a copy but it got lost somewhere along the way. The spine is peeling off my mum’s copy, which is held together by tape. It’s that kind of cookbook and that’s the reason I couldn’t buy a new copy. In time I’ve seen various editions of it and there’s something rather charming about the older ones. This one is of the most recent edition but the recipes are still classic, so I knew where to head when I wanted a good, basic carrot cake recipe.

(I’m not going to go into my cream cheese icing issues…)

Adapted from ‘The Good Housekeeping Cookery Book’

6oz butter

6oz light brown sugar

3 eggs, seperated

4 1/2 oz SRF

1 tsp baking powder

1 1/2 oz ground almonds

1 tsp mixed spice

2 carrots, peeled and grated 9with water squeezed out)

1 apple, peeled and chopped into tiny cubes

Cream butter and sugar together, beat in egg yolks.

Stir in flour, ground almonds and baking powder

Whisk egg whites until stiff, fold into mixture with carrots, apples and sultanas.

I cooked it in two 8-inch sandwhich tins at 180˚C for 40 mins.

a large handful of sultana, chopped

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

