Skip to content

Pannacotta and Florentines

February 27, 2011

Yesterday I saw fields and blue skies for the first time in a while. London has a habit of being so grey; so I was very excited when today I woke up to brilliant sunshine and that first feeling of spring in the air but now its pouring with rain, once again. The birds, though, continue to chirp through it all.

I don’t much like pannacotta; I thought that might change if I made it myself. It didn’t at all, considering I’m a great fan both of cream and of sweet things this is rather surprising (or it is to me, I’m surprised by many of my own dislikes). True I misjudged the gelatin hugely and ended up with a very solid pannacota, which I may hasten to add, my flatmate ate very readily but it most certainly didn’t have the texture it should have had. The florentine cookies were good, I fancied trying them again and making fancy shapes out of them but I never ended up getting round to it. I used wholemeal flour because I was out of plain flour and significantly reduced the amount of sugar, but they still came out exceedingly sweet, I also felt they were too buttery (I know, right?), so the recipe could do with some tweaking. I left out filling them with chocolate, which may have tempered the sweetness slightly.

The February 2011 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Mallory from A Sofa in the Kitchen. She chose to challenge everyone to make Panna Cotta from a Giada De Laurentiis recipe and Nestle Florentine Cookies.

Florentine Cookies, the way I made them, Daring Baker’s PDF recipe here:

75g butter

80g oats

100g sugar

45g wholemeal flour

30ml golden syrup

30ml milk

1/2 tsp vanilla

Melt butter in a medium saucepan. Add the rest of the ingredients to the butter and stir. Place teaspoonfuls very far apart (5 cm or so) on a lined baking sheet. Bake at 190˚C for 6-8 minutes until golden brown.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 28, 2011 2:40 am

    I concur with your assessment of the cookies and panna cotta. Panna cotta is not something that I understand. Why not just make pudding with cornstarch–what is the deal with the gelatin?
    Well, it was interesting to try, wasn’t it?

Leave a Reply

