Skip to content

No-knead Bread

February 20, 2011
tags:

A friend told me recently that he’d been making no-knead bread. He thought I’d consider it sacrilege. Sacrilege? hardly. Its homemade bread, from scratch with less effort (though more time, which in my opinion equates to more effort). The New York Times recipe for no-knead bread has been sitting in my ‘recipes to keep’ menu in my bookmarks for a long time now. I’ve only made it once before but it was brilliant. That comment made me remember that the recipe was sitting there, ready to be tried again.

Its been a long time since I’ve made bread, even soda bread I’ve only made once in the past few months. So I pulled out a packet of a mixed seed bread flour that’s been sitting around my cupboard for a little too long and decided to try out the no-knead recipe with it.

Only one thing: I couldn’t resist kneading the dough, even if just for a minute… it is the best part of making bread.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

