Skip to content

ANZAC biscuits

February 14, 2011

As others stood in line, with their parcels in special red and white postal boxes held together with lashings of parcel tape, I felt a little special knowing that, at least in my life, brown paper parcels tied up with string still exist. There was sellotape in the house somewhere but I couldn’t find it and pritt stick was never going to hold, so I decided hold together my brown paper wrapped parcels the old fashioned way, with string. I wonder that the custom ever died out, sellotape may now seem the obvious choice but string works so well. Saying that, my parcels are yet to arrive intact and in the Royal Mail I certainly do not trust.

The first, and the last, time I made these cookies was almost exactly 3 years ago. I made them for exactly the same reason I make them now: because their history speaks of their potential. Look up ANZAC biscuits on Wikipedia, there it will tell you of their association with the Australian and New Zealand Army corps, the same story is told above the recipe in my cookbook. ANZAC biscuits are so called because they were made by the wives of the Australian and New Zealand Army corps and sent to the soldiers when they were stationed in Galopilli (or so the stories go…).

Recipes surprising rarely tell you how long biscuits are likely to last or how easily they can be packaged and posted. While my past experiences of sending cookies in the post have been successful, I have only ever made a limited number of attempts. One of those attempts involved Canada Post and whilst I was reliably informed that the cookies were well enjoyed they did arrive 3 weeks after posting and rather stale. The lack of ability of Canada Post to get parcels to their destination in a reasonable amount of time means Canada will forever remain blacklisted as a country to and from which one cannot send cookies; to all my friends in Canada I apologise and send recipes instead.

So, if these biscuits were good enough to be sent around the world during the First World War, then they are certainly good enough to be sent around the world now. To top it off, they take little more than 5 minutes to make and are quite delicious.

ANZAC biscuits

from BBC Good Food

85g oats

85g dessicated coconut

100g butter

100g sugar

100g plain flour

1 tbsp golden syrup

1 tsp bicarbonate of soda

Mix the dry ingredients together in a large bowl.

Melt the butter and stir in the golden syrup. Add the bicarb to 2 tbsp of boiling water then mix into the butter mixture.

Roll desertspoonfuls of the mixture into balls and flatten slightly onto a lined baking tray, an inch apart or more apart, they spread quite a lot.

Bake at 180˚C for 10 minutes or until golden brown.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

