Skip to content

Poffertjes

January 2, 2011

A new year, how unexciting. After all we are all just one day older than yesterday, nothing has changed, nothing is different.

I almost forgot I had a poffertjes pan, it sits, unmoving in the kitchen here, rather a little too heavy to carry around. I’ve hardly used my poffertjes pan despite my initial excitement on getting one. So when pancakes and bacon were due for breakfast I suddenly remembered that not only do I have a poffertjes pan I had also brough fresh yeast with me. For poffertjes are little, dutch, yeasted pancakes. My previous forays into the poffertjes making world had all (both) involved the packet poffertjes mix that I got with the poffertjes pan and poffertjes recipes in English (not Dutch) are surprisingly difficult to find online.

Still, it only took a few minutes of googling to come up with a suitable recipe, I didn’t have any buckwheat flour, so I substituted it for a mixture of plain and wholewheat flour. Next time I’ll try this with buckwheat flour, as it should be, though I was very happy with them as they were. I covered them in layers of icing sugar and let knobs of butter melt ontop of them, they were divine and I ate them, buttered and sugared as they came off the hob. By the time I sat down to eat breakfast, I was already full but I still managed a few more with bacon and apple lightly stewed with nutmeg. An amazing combination.

I’ll be using this recipe to make any breakfast pancakes in the future, whether I have a poffertjes pan to hand or not. Indeed it may be easier to cook this recipe as normal pancakes on a normal hob, I was having to constantly swap the poffertjes pan between the hotter and cooler hot plates on our Aga in order to keep in the right temperature. The batter is very similar to a normal pancake butter, they just come out lighter and fluffier, if you’ve got time to sit around waiting for your yeast to rise, or a moment the evening before to throw together a batter, which you can leave in the fridge overnight, then these are more than worthwhile.

Recipe adapted from Kitchen Butterfly and Jungle Frog Cooking:

Poffertjes: (makes lots…)

250g flour (I used 200g plain flour, 50 g wholemeal flour, but ideally 125g plain flour and 125g buckwheat flour should be used)

300 ml milk

14g fresh yeast (or 7g dried yeast)

2 eggs

1 tsp salt

1 tsp vanilla
Sprinkle yeast on top of just warm milk and leave for 5 minutes until frothy.

Beat all ingredients together in a large bowl.

Cover bowl with clingfilm and leave in a warm place for an hour or in the fridge overnight.

Spoon batter into wells on a buttered poffertjes pan, the batter will sizzle when it hits the butter if the pan is hot enough. Cook until bubbles break through the surface, turn over and cook on the other side for about a minute or until golden brown.

Sprinkle with copious amounts of icing sugar and allow knobs of butter to melt on the poffertjes.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2011 9:07 am

    Interesting recipe a pancake with yeast. This would be a really good breakfast!

  2. January 2, 2011 8:12 pm

    Thanks for the shoutout – I love the idea of the nutmeg flavoured apple compote. Have a brilliant 2011

  3. January 7, 2011 11:07 pm

    Ah good old poffertjes!! They look great!

Leave a Reply

