Skip to content

Midnight Macaroons

December 22, 2010

Sometimes when I get an idea into my head, I just can’t get it out, and I go and do things like making macaroons at midnight. I walked past Laudrée today with my mum and we stopped to watch them pack jewel-like macaroons into boxes, they were so pretty. So when, only a little while after, we stopped at a cafe for lunch that sold macaroons we picked some up to have for desert. Those macaroons were deeply disappointing, being flavoured with some very weird artificial flavours, next time I may just have to bite the bullet and try Laudrée’s despite the expense.
The consequence of Laudrée putting macaroons on my mind was that I couldn’t get them off my mind especially when I had some left over egg whites sitting in the fridge. The macaroons were far from perfect, not least because I don’t have a blender so couldn’t grind my ground almonds any finer, making my macaroons rather bumpy and imparting a slightly cruder flavour than one would desire from the delicate macaroon. But my macaroons had feet and for a first attempt, I’m pretty pleased.

I kept these simple, I didn’t want to risk colours or flavours going wrong, vanilla macaroons with chocolate ganache filling.

I used several sources for this recipe, including, Delicious magazine, David Lebovitz and a Hugh Fearnley-Wittingstall article in the Guardian.

 

120g icing sugar

80g ground almonds

2 egg white

50g caster sugar

1/4 tsp vanilla.

 

Theoretically you should blitz the ground almonds and icing sugar together in a food processor, but this requires ownership of said equipment.

Preheat Oven to 160˚C

Whisk egg whites with a pinch of salt until they form soft peaks

Gradually whisk in caster sugar until the mixture is thick and glossy.

Stir in the vanilla essence.

Fold in half of the icing sugar and almonds, then stir in the rest of the icing sugar and almonds.

Pipe onto a baking sheet lined with baking parchment in 3cm rounds.

Bake for 15 minutes

Leave to cool on the baking sheet.

Fill with Chocolate ganache.

 

Chocolate gaunche

 

50g dark chocolate

50ml cream

knob of butter

1 tsp golden syrup

small pinch of salt

 

Warm cream, butter and golden syrup, then pour over broken up chocolate, stir until cooled and thickened.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

