Skip to content

Baked Doughnuts

October 27, 2010

.

I made these on the last day that I knew I would have some free time. I knew the first weekend of October would be the only chance I’d get to do this month’s Daring Baker’s challenge, but its taken me more than 3 weeks to sit down and write about it. I went for Baked Doughnuts as I’m a little scared of deep fat frying and I wanted to keep things simple. Still proper homemade doughnuts have creeped their way onto my lsit of things I would like to make.

These tasted good, sweet, happy, but nothing special. They didn’t rise as much as they should have or have quite the right texture, I’m sure this is because I used plain flour instead of bread flour, after consulting a couple of recipes that all used plain flour. Something to try again I think, these were far from perfect, but not a terrible first attempt.

.

.

The October 2010 Daring Bakers challenge was hosted by Lori of Butter Me Up. Lori chose to challenge DBers to make doughnuts. She used several sources for her recipes including Alton Brown, Nancy Silverton, Kate Neumann and Epicurious.

.

Recipe adapted from Spicy Ice Cream and Gourmet Traveller

The funny quantities are because I quartered the recipe to make 12 very tiny doughnuts.

For doughnuts:

190g plain flour (use bread flour in future)

35g sugar

1/4 tsp dried yeast

grated rind of 1/2 lemon

20g natural youghurt

60g milk

1/2 egg

40g butter

For Lemon Ricotta Filling:

60g ricotta

15g caster sugar

grated rind and zest of 1/4 lemon

Mix together youghurt, milk and egg.

In a seperate bowl mix together sugar, flour and yeast. Make a well in the centre and pour in wet ingredients.

Bring together to form a dough and knead for 10 minutes until elastic.

Leave to rise for 1 1/2 hours, or until doubled in size.

Beat together ingredients for the lemon ricotta filling.

Preheat oven to 190˚C

Knock back dough, and roll out to about 5 mm thick. Cut our ~12 rounds with each of a 3cm and 5cm cutter.

Space the smaller rounds on to a baking sheet, well spaced out.

Spoon a teaspoon of lemon ricotta filling onto each round, brush milk round the edges, place larger round ontop and press down the edges to seal.

Bake until golden: 8-10 mins

As soon as they are out of the oven, brush with melted butter and roll in sugar combined with a little grated lemon zest.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

