Skip to content

Peach Crumble Shortbread

October 1, 2010

I brought a few too many peaches, more than I could eat at any rate, but off the market everything comes in large quantities and I assumed I’d find something to do with them. It was only afterward I remembered a friend had recently sent me a link to a recipe for peach shortbread. The recipe looked great, so I bookmarked in, then promptly forgot about it, only the peaches reminded me. With only two of us in the house, I knew it would be dangerous to bake too much, so I went into uni today, to pass cake-like goods onto other people, amongst other reasons.

.

.

These are nothing special, I got a little salt-mill happy and unfortunately they tasted overpoweringly of salt, though it seemed that I was the only one who noticed. I’m not sure what that says about the amount of salt in the food we eat; or maybe people were just being polite. More peaches would have made this, I think. The ‘crumble’ didn’t seem quite as crumbly as it should, I wonder if my butter was a little too soft when I incorporated it and I was a little low on flour, after using the whole packet. Still, I like these, they’re so very easy to make and my stomach will currently attest to their being decidedly moreish.

.

.

Peach Crumble Shortbread

from Smitten Kitten

.

200g caster sugar

1 tsp baking powder

360g plain flour

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/8 tsp mixed spice (the original recipe calls for nutmeg, but this was the closest thing I had)

1/4 tsp salt

1 egg

2 peaches, thinly spiced

.

Brown the butter by gently heating it in a saucepan until brown in colour with a nutty smell, watch carefully and keep stirring to prevent the butter burning. Place in the freezer for 30 mins to harden.

Preheat oven to 190˚c

Mix together the flour, sugar, spices, salt and baking powder.

Rub in butter until the mixture resembles breadcrumbs.

Stir in eggs.

Press 3/4 of the mixture firmly down in the bottom of a 9×13 inch, greased and lined baking tin.

Cover with slices of peaches.

Sprinkle the remaining crumble ontop.

Bake for 30 mins, until golden brown.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

