Skip to content

Chocolate Marquise

May 27, 2011

Its rare that I, and probably many others beside, gawp at the complexity of a recipe at first glance only to find that it’s relatively quick and simple to make. The many parts of the daring baker’s recipe this month, that seemed to assume a kitchen full of gadgets turned out that way. The challenge was a chocolate marquise, served with meringue, caramel and nuts.
I guessed when my sugar syrup was ready instead of using a sugar thermometer, used the grill instead of a blow-torch and ‘made my own stand mixer’ so that I could do more than one thing at once. I’m far to lazy to stand holding beaters for 10 minutes, which this recipe called for, twice, so I balanced my stand mixer on a pile of books. The setup proved to be surprisingly stable, I luckily happened to be using the right size bowl, which helped a lot.

The marquise tasted great I forgot to put pepper in it and substituted the tequila for amaretto, amaretto and chocolate are always a great combination. Eaten with  meringue and caramel (again made with amaretto) it tasted great and didn’t seem to be lacking. I didn’t make the nuts, I don’t do nuts.

The caramel recipe is slightly odd, it produced an exceptionally thick caramel I ended up adding a lot more amaretto and a lot more water to it and it was still thick.

This would make a perfect dinner party dessert, rich, luxurious, simple to make and could be made to look fabulous.

Recipe pdf is here.

The May 2011 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Emma of CookCraftGrow and Jenny of Purple House Dirt. They chose to challenge everyone to make a Chocolate Marquise. The inspiration for this recipe comes from a dessert they prepared at a restaurant in Seattle.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 27, 2011 8:00 pm

    What a lovely Marquise….. and fabulous plating :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

